Published on

Developing a Laravel CLI Application

Authors

I dislike repetitive tasks, especially when it comes to setting up layouts for every Laravel project. That's why I came up with the idea of creating a CLI application that offers boilerplate templates, allowing users to select their desired combination, such as "Laravel + Bootstrap + React Dashboard" or "Laravel + Livewire + Bootstrap Dashboard."

During my research, I discovered Laravel Zero, a powerful micro-framework that serves as an excellent starting point for console applications. Laravel Zero provides all the functionalities present in Laravel's Artisan command-line interface, making it easy to work with.

One of the standout features of Laravel Zero is the ability to distribute your CLI application via Packagist. This means that you can create your CLI application, install it globally on your Windows system through Packagist, and start using it right away.

To familiarize myself with Laravel Zero, I created a simple task CRUD (Create, Read, Update, Delete) CLI project. You can find the code for this project on GitHub project link.

Furthermore, I'm currently working on a template CLI application. Once it's complete, I'll update this article with the details. If you have any boilerplate templates you'd like to share, please leave the link in the comments, and I'll incorporate them into the CLI application.

To dive deeper into CLI app development with PHP, I recommend watching Marcel Pociot's insightful video tutorial on "Creating CLI Apps with PHP" link. Additionally, You can explore an awesome list of projects built with Laravel-Zero on GitHub link.